Franklin County Chamber businesses awarded

6 mins read

Tom White, Bernal Allen and Ken Wiley of the Wilton Lions Club accept the 2009 Non-Profit of the Year award from the Franklin County Chamber of Commerce at the annual banquet held Wednesday night in the Bass Room at Franklin Memorial Hospital in Farmington. (Photos by Scott Landry)

Bangor Savings Bank received the 2009 Small Business of the Year award by the Franklin County Chamber of Commerce. The new Ben Franklin Volunteer of the Year Award for 2009 went to Heidi Elliott, also of Bangor Savings Bank. Above, Matt Wotton, Chamber president, presents the plaque to bank employees.

John Diller, Sugarloaf’s general manager, at left, accepts the Franklin County Chamber of Commerce Large Business of the Year Award for 2009 presented by Matt Wotton, Chamber president, at Wednesday’s annual banquet.

FARMINGTON – The Franklin County Chamber of Commerce celebrated with members and guests at their Annual Meeting Dinner held Wednesday, Nov. 18 in the Bass Room at Franklin Memorial Hospital in Farmington.

Over 100 attended the annual event which serves as the annual meeting and awards presentation to nominated businesses and non-profit organizations.

A wonderful buffet dinner was served by Aramark and the evening was made possible through the generosity of Franklin Community Health Network, Franklin Savings Bank and Camden National Bank.

Chamber president Matt Wotton thanked those board members stepping down after fulfilling their term commitments, which included Leo Deon of the University of Maine, Farmington; Peggy Willihan of Verso Paper in Jay and long-time Executive Board Member Ellen Curtiss of Camden National Bank, who has accepted a promotional opportunity with Camden’s offices in Ellsworth.

President Wotton also welcomed new board members to fill open board positions: Todd Bullen of Hannaford, Farmington; Jennifer Eriksen, University of Maine at Farmington; Nancy Chase, Farmington Emblem Club 460 and Debra Harris, Harris Real Estate and Auctions, Farmington.

Joining the Executive Board is Scott Landry, owner of Shiretown Insurance in Farmington and long-time board member who has accepted the position of Vice President of Membership.

A beautiful bouquet was presented to Committee Chair Shannon Smith for her hard work and help in planning and putting the evening together.

Immediately following the business meeting, awards were presented to the following:

This non-profit group works year-round to support the Wilton Community with various events and programs designed not only to bring visitors here but also to support various organizations and those less fortunate with programs designed to lend a helping hand; along with awarding various scholarships to deserving students. They continue to host the breakfast at the Wilton Blueberry Festival which helps to bring visitors to this great annual event.

Under new ownership, Sugarloaf has been working to upgrade its operations which in turn will attract more visitors to our region and thus have a larger economic impact on all businesses in Franklin County. The golf course continues to attract not only local players but those from afar who come here for the world-class golfing experience. The conferences held at the Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel continue to bring in groups for several days at a time – exposing those from around the state and beyond to all that Franklin County has to offer. They have also been instrumental in distributing the Franklin County Chamber of Commerce’s Annual Welcome Guide to those who visit Sugarloaf.

SMALL BUSINESS – Bangor Savings Bank, Farmington Mt. Blue Branch
Bangor Savings Bank’s local employees and parent company continue to volunteer and help the community with programs and donations badly needed by the area’s non-profit organizations.

Community Matters More program – with over 86,000 votes cast by the people of Maine, the Bangor Savings Bank Foundation has committed to donating $100,000 to over 60 Maine-based non-profit organizations throughout the State. What makes this program unique is that citizens of Maine vote for their favorite non-profit organization, and those organizations receiving the most votes win.

They have been recognized by the Maine Development Foundation for their commitment to communities in Maine and have been recognized as one of the best places to work in Maine.

Franklin County Chamber of Commerce Ben Franklin Volunteer of the Year Award 2009
A new award this year recognized a non-board member for service and commitment to the Chamber for 2009: the FCCOC Ben Franklin Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Heidi Elliott of Bangor Savings Bank, Mt. Blue branch in Farmington.

Heidi has donated countless hours of her time attending board meetings and volunteering on various committees and helping with events and other activities of the Chamber. “Her interest and dedication is recognized and greatly appreciated,” commented Executive Director Lorna Nichols. “It is important to let those who volunteer with our organization know they are invaluable and key to the continued success of our Chamber and its members.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.