Jay scholarship recipient honored

1 min read

AUGUSTA – Anna LeBlanc, a resident of Jay, was honored Thursday as the Franklin County recipient of the Legislative Memorial Scholarship. Every spring, the Legislative Memorial Scholarship Fund awards $1,000 scholarships to one student from each of Maine’s 16 counties. Awards are given to Maine residents attending Maine institutions of higher education based on academic standing and need.

The Legislative Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 1995 in memory of all those who have served the Maine Legislature. The annual Scholarship Auction is the primary source for raising funds and is a successor to the Gould-Michaud Scholarship Auction. The Gould-Michaud Scholarship Fund was established on behalf of the late Stephen Gould (R-Stillwater) and David Michaud, a House page who was killed by a drunk driver.

Pictured above are, from left to right: Sen. Bruce Bryant, D-Oxford, Anna LeBlanc, Rep. Paul Gilbert, D-Jay, Anna’s grandparents Ray and Louise LeBlanc and Anna’s parents Paul and Bonnie LeBlanc.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email